Article Text

Download PDFPDF
NIH Announces REACH Awardees

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) announced three awards as part of the Research Evaluation and Commercialization Hubs (REACH) program. REACH is aimed at accelerating the pace of translating basic biomedical discoveries into new therapies, diagnostics and devices. The REACH program aligns with the NIH Centers for Accelerated Innovations (NCAI) initiative of the NIH’s National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (NHLBI).

The newly awarded REACH hubs will be funded at $9 million over three years. Additionally, each REACH has secured non-federal funding equal to or greater than the NIH award and has developed partnerships with other regional public and private organizations. The hubs will be managed by the NHLBI and will work collaboratively with the NCAIs, utilizing the program’s existing infrastructure and partnerships. REACH is a trans-NIH program and is overseen by a committee of representatives from across the agency. As announced by the NIH, the new REACH awardees are:

  • The Long Island Bioscience Hub: Stony Brook University, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory, Brookhaven National Laboratory, New York

  • The University of Louisville, Kentucky

  • The University of Minnesota, Minneapolis

The existing NCAI awardees are:

  • Boston Biomedical Innovation Center: Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston Children’s Hospital, Massachusetts General Hospital, and President and Fellows of Harvard College

  • Cleveland Clinic Innovation Accelerator: The Cleveland Clinic Lerner College of Medicine; Case Western Reserve University, Cleveland; Cincinnati Children’s Hospital; The Ohio State University, Columbus; and University of Cincinnati

  • University of California BRAID Center for Accelerated Innovation: University of California, Los Angeles; University of California, Davis; University of California, Irvine; University of California, San Diego; and University of California, San Francisco

2015 Helmsley Award Winners Announced

The Endocrine Society announced awardees of the 2015 Helmsley Charitable Trust Abstract Awards in Type 1 Diabetes. The award recognizes early career professionals engaged in Type 1 diabetes research and care. The 22 awardees presented their work …

View Full Text