Article Text

Download PDFPDF
Duke University Names Provost

Statistics from

Request Permissions

If you wish to reuse any or all of this article please use the link below which will take you to the Copyright Clearance Center’s RightsLink service. You will be able to get a quick price and instant permission to reuse the content in many different ways.

Sally Kornbluth Photo courtesy of Duke University

Sally Kornbluth, PhD, James B. Duke Professor in the department of pharmacology and cancer biology at Duke University and the vice dean for basic science in Duke’s School of Medicine, has been named provost at Duke University. She succeeds Peter Lange, PhD, who steps down on June 30 after serving in the post for 15 years.

Dr. Kornbluth has served on the faculty at Duke since 1994 and has held a number of leadership roles. She was appointed vice dean for basic sciences at the medical school in 2006 and is recognized for her role in directing the School of Medicine’s clinical research enterprise from 2009–2011. She has been recognized as an outstanding educator with the School of Medicine’s Basic Science Research Mentoring Award in 2012 and the Distinguished Faculty Award from the Duke Medical Alumni Association in 2013.

Dr. Kornbluth earned a bachelor of science in genetics in 1984 from Cambridge University, where she was a Herchel Smith Scholar at Emmanuel College. She earned her PhD in molecular oncology from the Rockefeller University in 1989 and completed postdoctoral training at the University of California, San Diego. Her research has focused on cell proliferation and programmed cell death. She is a member of the Institute of Medicine and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

Dean of LSU Health Shreveport School of Medicine Retires

Andrew L. Chesson, Jr. MD, Dean of the School of Medicine at Louisiana State University (LSU) Health Sciences Center Shreveport (LSUHSC-S), retired in March 2014. He spent his entire career of more than 35 years at LSU Health Shreveport. He was a Professor of Neurology, also serving as Associate Dean for Academic Affairs for 15 years and Acting Chancellor and Dean for one year, and was the inaugural holder of the separate title …

View Full Text